Skip to main content
  00353 (0)51 311000


Waterford Teachers’ Centre came into existence in 1974 when a general meeting of all teachers in the region was held in De La Salle. This meeting was attended by a large group of  teachers. At that meeting an ad-hoc committee was elected to see the Centre through its initial organising period. Seán Ó Mulláin, who at the time was Principal in Killea N.S, was elected as Chairman of that committee and Henry Collins, a teacher in Newtown Secondary School, was elected as Secretary and Part-time Director of the Centre.


Shortly after that the committee rented a premises at 31, The Mall. This was a large Georgian House leased from the Holy Ghost Trust and was the home of Waterford Teachers’ Centre until the early 1980s. Then the Centre moved to the Order of Malta Hall at 123A the Quay. In the late 1980s after 15 years as a part-time Centre, the Centre became a full-time Centre. The first full-time Director, Gráinne Ó Neachtain was employed. After 2 years Gráinne returned to St. John of God N.S. from which she had been seconded.

One year later the Centre moved to its present home, which was part of De La Salle College. The building housed the Junior Classes from the College from the mid 1950s until 1990 when the classes were transferred across the road to the main building where they were rehoused in Classrooms converted from Dormitories vacated when the Boarding School Section of the College which had closed in the late 1980s. 

This premises, centrally located and with adequate parking proved very suitable for the Centre. The Management Committe wereo are very appreciative of the co-operation and assistance received from the De La Salle Brothers over the years. The location of the Centre, more or less in the Centre of the City alloyed with the very peaceful and tranquil back drop of the green playing field and the estuary to the harbour has endeared it to the teachers from all of our catchment area

In 1991 Niamh Crowley succeeded Gráinne as Director. Niamh served as Director for 8 years until 1998 at which time she returned to teach in St. Angela's Sceondary School, from which she had been seconded.

1998 Niamh Crowley was succeeded by Harry Knox. Harry served as director for 18 years

2016 -2022 Celia Walsh succeeded Harry Knox

2020 new director Assumpta O’Neill

Breda Halley, the first full-time Secretary of the Centre was employed in 1992 and is still with us.

The Centre acknowledges the efforts and contrbiutions of all the teachers who served as Director of the Centre when it was a part time centre, as well as the many teacher volunteers who have served as members of the Board of Management so far in its 40 years of existence.


In 1998 the building was purchased by the Department of Education and Skills from the the De La Salle Brothers and it was completely renovated.  The Centre was vacated during the construction period of 2 years and resided in temporary accomodation at Upstairs, 126 The Quay. The renovated Centre was officially opened by Martin Cullen TD, Minister of Transport and the Environment, on April 4th 2003.

Our largest meeting room has been called the Seán Ó Mulláin Room and our Ressurce Library, The Henry Collins Library, both to commemorate two of our founding members.